OUPblog > Subtopics > Editor's Picks > An introduction to classic children’s literature

An introduction to classic children’s literature

For over 100 years Oxford World’s Classics have brought readers closer to the world’s finest writers and their works. Making available popular favourites as well as lesser-known books, the series has grown to 700 titles – from the 4,000 year-old myths of Mesopotamia to the twentieth-century’s greatest novels. Yet many of our readers first acquainted themselves with an Oxford World’s Classic as a child. In the below videos, Peter Hunt, who was responsible for setting up the first course in children’s literature in the UK, reintroduces us to The Secret Garden, The Wind in the Willows, and Treasure Island.

The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
YouTube Preview Image

The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame
YouTube Preview Image

Treasure Island by Robert Louis Stevenson
YouTube Preview Image

Peter Hunt was the first specialist in Children’s Literature to be appointed full Professor of English in a British university. Peter Hunt has written or edited eighteen books on the subject of children’s literature, including An Introduction to Children’s Literature (OUP, 1994) and has edited Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland, The Wind in the Willows, Treasure Island and The Secret Garden for Oxford World’s Classics.

Subscribe to the OUPblog via email or RSS.

One Response to “An introduction to classic children’s literature”
Leave a Reply