Oxford University Press's
Academic Insights for the Thinking World

University of Manchester crowned champions of the OUP and BPP Mooting Competition 2016

Congratulations to the University of Manchester team represented by Sophie Walmsley and Simren Singh, who beat off stiff competition to be crowned champions of the OUP and BPP National Mooting Competition 2015-2016.

His Honour Judge Charles Gratwicke of Chelmsford Crown Court presided over the final once again, which was held at BPP Law School, Holborn on 30 June 2016. He remarked that he was staggered by the tremendously high standard of mooting, and that each and every student taking part was on a par with many of the barristers he hears in court.

The original moot problem, written by barrister Ros Earis for the final, focused on whether or not a landlord was liable for an injury caused to his tenant by a broken paving stone close to the front door of the property, despite not being informed of the defect. The problem provided all participants with the opportunity to showcase their legal knowledge and advocacy skills.

Congratulations also go to the other three teams: University College London represented by Godwin Tan and Suhail Bindra; Manchester Metropolitan University represented by Jess Purchase and Ciara Bartlam; and Birmingham City University represented by Ali Kazi and Jack Rogers, all of whom worked incredibly hard to reach the final of the competition and displayed impressive mooting skills on the night.

As award for their fantastic achievement, winners Sophie and Simren receive a trophy and £750 prize money each.


All images courtesy of Oxford University Press.

Recent Comments

There are currently no comments.