Oxford University Press's
Academic Insights for the Thinking World

Celebrating the Fields Medal [infographic]

This year, 2018, sees the world’s mathematics community come together once more at the International Congress of Mathematicians, hosted for the first time in South America in Rio de Janeiro.

A highlight at every ICM is the announcement of the recipients of the Fields Medal, an award that honours up to four mathematicians under the age of 40, and is viewed as one of the highest honours a mathematician can receive.

Here we honour past Fields Medal winners who we are proud to name as our authors. Hover over each name to learn a little more about who they are and what their contributions have been.



Featured image: Math concept. Shutterstock

Recent Comments

  1. Anthony Watkinson

    Michael Atiyah was also a Delegate of the Press

  2. Sara

    Nice but where’s Arthur Avila?

Comments are closed.