Oxford University Press's
Academic Insights for the Thinking World

Law Teacher of the Year announced at the Celebrating Excellence in Law Teaching conference

Nick Clapham of the University of Surrey was pronounced Law Teacher of the Year at the Celebrating Excellence in Law Teaching conference.

Oxford University Press Higher Education law team successfully hosted the conference on 29 June 2017 at the University of Warwick – bringing together nearly 100 law academics under the umbrella of celebrating teaching excellence.

Delegates were treated to sessions which ranged from the mind-blowing, to the politically charged, to the thoroughly moving. In sessions designed to be interactive delegates were able to ask questions and enter into discussions with the speakers.

At the heart of the conference were the six Law Teacher of the Year finalists who were quizzed on a panel about their motivations, inspirations, and tribulations.

Professor Lisa Webley, who won Law Teacher of the Year last year, then stepped forward to announce the winner.

The announcement came at the end of a rigorous judging process involving assessed campus visits and interviews.

On accepting his award, sponsored by Oxford University Press, Nick said,

“I am delighted and humbled to receive this prestigious award for my work at the University of Surrey. It is made even more special as OUP’s judging process means that it can only be achieved with the support of colleagues and, most importantly, students. I now look forward to the coming academic year with even greater enthusiasm for what a colleague at today’s conference rightly described as ‘one of the best jobs in the world’.”

The other finalists were:

  • Mohsen al Attar, Queen’s University Belfast
  • Michael Fay, Keele University
  • Matthew Homewood, Nottingham Trent University
  • Geoffrey Main, Thomas Bennett Sixth Form
  • Amanda Perry-Kessaris, University of Kent

All images were taken by Natasha Ellis-Knight of OUP, used with permission.

Recent Comments

There are currently no comments.